K – 12

The residents of Morgan and Scott counties enjoy a variety of educational services from 18 elementary schools and nine high schools. Our region is known for having a high quality of education and offering students opportunities to grow through unique programs like the Morgan-Scott CEO Program. 

Educating more than 3,400 students annually, Jacksonville School District #117 has the broadest curriculum in the region. Classes are offered in agriculture, business, family and consumer sciences, health care occupations, the trades, and in technical education to prepare students for direct entry into the job market or further education, as well as advanced education opportunities. Their mission is to provide an educational environment that promotes excellence and values in every student.

Jacksonville is also the home of three excellent parochial schools. Our Savior Grade School and Routt Catholic High School provide a faith-based environment which promotes spiritual growth, academic achievement, physical health and community service in each student. Westfair Christian Academy provides Christian education for children grades pre-k through 12th grade and is committed to providing an affordable, faith-based, quality education to the multiple communities it serves. Salem Lutheran School offers quality Christ-centered education for children aged three through 8th grade.

For those students who have special needs, Jacksonville is the home to the Illinois School for the Deaf (ISD) and the Illinois School for the Visually Impaired (ISVI). The mission of both state-supported, public schools is to educate their students to become responsible, self-supporting citizens.

In addition, a group of community leaders have established the “Jacksonville Promise” for all students in the Jacksonville School District #117 boundaries. The Jacksonville Promise Program is a unique blend of the well-known Kalamazoo Promise. In the past four years, 100 students have received scholarships to continue their education at Illinois College, MacMurray College or Lincoln Land Community College.

The school districts of Franklin, Meredosia-Chambersburg, Triopia, and Waverly cater to students in rural Morgan County. These Morgan County School Districts are dedicated to providing students with quality education that develops into lifelong learning.

Two school districts based in Winchester and Bluffs serve the educational needs of Scott County residents. These Scott County School Districts are committed to equipping students with the tools they need for academic, personal, social and workplace achievements.